Life Amongst the Dead

One of my favorite places to visit locally may surprise many people. To some a casual visit to a cemetery may be viewed as offensive, while others may find peace and solace amongst those no longer with us.  I personally view Hollywood Cemetery as my own little Ivory Tower or oasis. I am able to get lost in my thoughts while obtaining a good workout walking around the beautiful garden.

    

Hollywood Cemetery also has much history to be explored and uncovered. For example, you will find U.S. presidents such as James Monroe buried amongst over 18, 000 confederate soldiers.

  

 

However, my favorite part of Hollywood Cemetery is listening to the sound of the James River running nearby Waterview Avenue. I literally walk right through the front entrance and follow the sound of the rappids until I find my favorite hill overlooking Richmond City. Many locals will not find such views of our little, historical city without a visit to Hollywood Cemetery.

 

Leave a Reply

