Are You Engaged?

In the midst of wedding season and the business of travelling to engagement parties, bridal showers, bachelorette parties, and wedding ceremonies; I cannot help but take a moment to ask myself “how much are we really engaged?” I do not refer to asking a significant other to spend the rest of their life with us in matrimony. I refer to participating in meaningful contact or connections with others.

How often do you take time to stop and force yourself to become aware of your surroundings, and the people involved? Intimacy should not be reserved for romantic relationships, but all relationships. Do not fear deep, meaningful bonds with those in your life. Even a passer-byer may have something to offer, be it a small life lesson or another perspective. We must remain open to all life has to offer before the last stroke of the clock.

With this in mind,  I have decided to be engaged! I will engage with my peers, my family, my friends, my coworkers, my pets, nature, and embrace the ups and downs of life. Death is inevitable, so why wait around for Joe Black to arrive and wish we had another chance?

I vow not to worry about social pressures or arbitrary norms. I vow to live my life with no regrets. I vow to love all parts of me while I open my mind and heart to show compassion to others. I vow to remain engaged while Father Time pours his sand.

Leave a Reply

